Summer Camp 2021

Finding
Balance
on One Leg

Feldenkrais® Summer Camp 2021

“Step with care and great tact,
And remember Life’s a Great Balancing Act.”
— Dr. Seuss

This year’s Summer Camp offers practical, engaging, and compelling answers to the question:

    “How do I develop better balance?” 

We’ll do that by investigating a simple human ability: standing on one leg. 

Standing on one leg is a well-established exercise for improving balance and coordination. There are plenty of instructions on proper form and, even, on how to breathe while you’re there. The aim is always to maintain this precarious posture and work on doing so for longer periods of time.

The focus is on staying one foot, not on how you get there nor what exactly to do when you’re there. 

This approach points to practicing as the path to progress but usually has little or nothing to say about what to practice or how to do it.

Finding Balance on One Leg takes a different tact. Rather than it being something that you have or lose, we start with the assumption that balancing is an activity: something you do. Our human frame is not designed for stillness; the fact is that we are dynamically, not statically, stable. That means we are constantly losing and finding our equilibrium. 

Summer camp is about unpacking how this balancing act works in a way that helps you get better at it. Standing on one leg serves as a laboratory for learning, creating a concrete context for investigating questions such as: 

  • How do I line myself up over one foot? 
  • What makes this difficult, and what can I do about it? 
  • Once I find my way to this unsteady one-legged perch, what do I do to stay here? How do I move around once I’m there?
  • How do I use what I learn to improve the way I move every day?

Over five days, the classes follow a step-by-step developmental logic to incrementally and reliably develop the coordination that makes up this skill. The lessons are engaging, active, and gradually become more challenging. You learn about your body’s built-in balancing mechanism and how to harness it lying on the floor, in sitting, and, finally, standing on two feet and one, first against the wall and then away from it.

Whether your balance is good and you want to enhance it, you’re facing challenges with your sense of equilibrium, or you’re just curious, Feldenkrais Summer Camp 2021 is a unique opportunity to engage your brain’s lifelong ability to learn and realize your potential to enhance your abilities.

Experience live classes

Benefit from real-time online education that combines weekly classes and workshops.

Participate from wherever

Use Zoom from your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or computer. You can even call in from a landline.

Fit your schedule

Find a time that works for you: summer camp happens twice!

Never miss out

Access the recordings for on-demand learning.

Harness your potential

Discover your ability to improve how you move.

Everyone welcome

Please invite your household to join in.

Get guidance

Discuss the lessons and get coaching.

Take it with you

Take what you learn into life.

Summer camp is happening on Zoom, a user-friendly meeting service that makes it possible to connect with people around the world from your computer, tablet, or phone. If you have never used it before, you can try it here: zoom.us/test.

The curriculum consists of seven lessons along with time to learn from and with the other participants — after all, what would summer camp be without a few fun group activities? — and for questions and answers. 

This year, we’re offering two parallel sessions of summer camp. You sign up for either the “Pacific” or “Atlantic” schedule, but you are welcome to attend either group or both.

Pacific
July
23
24
25
26
27
28
Chicago
7:00 to 9:45 PM
7:00 to 8:45 PM
 
Los Angeles
5:00 to 7:45 PM
5:00 to 6:45 PM
 
Honolulu
2:00 to 5:45 PM
2:00 to 3:45 PM
 
Perth 
8:00 to 10:45 AM
8:00 to 9:45 AM
Tokyo 
9:00 to 11:45 AM
9:00 to 10:45 AM
Adelaide 
9:30 AM to 12:15 PM
9:30 to 11:15 AM
Sydney 
10:00 AM to 12:45 PM
10:00 to 11:45 AM
Auckland 
11:00 AM to 1:45 PM
11:00 AM to 12:45 PM
Atlantic
July
23
24
25
26
27
28
Los Angeles 
9:00 to 11:45 AM
9:00 to 10:45 AM
Edmonton 
10:00 AM to 12:45 AM
10:00 to 11:45 AM
Chicago 
11:00 AM to 1:45 AM
11:00 AM to 12:45 PM
New York 
Noon to 2:45 PM
Noon to 1:45 PM
London 
5:00 to 7:45 PM
5:00 to 6:45 PM
Paris 
6:00 to 8:45 PM
6:00 to 7:45 PM
Tel Aviv 
7:00 to 9:45 PM
7:00 to 8:45 PM

When you sign up for Finding Balance on One Leg now, you receive access to the live sessions and the recording of the proceedings. (We will provide the recording of one version of each lesson as well as the recordings of the interactive exercises and discussions.)

Early registration for Summer Camp 2021 is available only until 11:59 PM US Pacific time on Monday, 5 July 2021.

Full tuition is due as of Tuesday, 6 July 2021, Pacific time.

Atlantic

Pay in Loonies

$197

Pay in Euros

€167

Pay in Shekels

₪517

Pay in US Dollars

$197

Pay in Pounds

£137

Pacific

Pay in Aus Dollars

$197

Pay in Yen

¥21,557

Pay in Loonies

$197

Pay in NZ Dollars

$197

Pay in US Dollars

$197

If you would like to purchase tuition for some else, you can!

 

Tuition and Participation Policy

  • There are no credits or refunds for any missed classes.

  • By registering for this class, you also acknowledge that 20% of your tuition is a non-refundable administrative fee.

  • For any cancellation between the day of enrollment and up to 31 (thirty-one) days before the first class, your tuition minus the down payment will be refunded.

  • Cancellations between 30 and 7 (thirty and seven) calendar days before the first day of class 50% of the total tuition will be refunded.

  • No refunds will be given for any cancellations received after 7 (seven) calendar days before the course begins.

  • No-Risk Guarantee: If, after attending and participating the first day, you do not want to continue, and if you notify the instructor before the start of the second day of instruction, we will refund 100% of your tuition no questions asked within 7 (seven) business days.

  • To sign up for the course, you must agree to the participation agreement first.