Summer Camp 2022

Mind in Motion summer camp 2022 cover photo

The Power Within

Feldenkrais® Summer Camp 2022

Larry Goldfarb, CFT, RSME, Ph.D.

What lies behind us
and what lies before us
are tiny matters compared to
what lies within us.
Henry Stanley Haskins

How do we cope with our increasingly troubled world and the challenges that daily life brings? 

In these anxious times, there is so much bad news and so many things we cannot change. What remains within our power is how we respond to what’s happening.

Summer Camp 2022 harnesses an often underappreciated benefit of Feldenkrais sessions. While highly valued for how they can help you move past long-held habits, recover lost abilities, and develop new skills, these lessons also alter your perspective; they change how you live in your skin. There’s something about connecting to your intrinsic capacity to change that leads to feeling better.

Over five consecutive days, The Power Within reveals how to tap into your innate ability to modify your neurophysiology and shift your internal state. Drawing on martial arts, yoga, neurophysical development, and other somatic methods, this year’s carefully curated Awareness Through Movement lessons offer a bodywise way to:

  • Engage the spinal engine.
  • Move from your center.
  • Find steadfast strength.
  • Recover your equilibrium.
  • Breathe easier.
  • Get grounded. 
  • Feel at home in yourself.

If you are ready to unlock your ability to alter your attitude, please join us.

Experience live classes

Benefit from real-time
online education.

Participate from wherever

Use Zoom from your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or computer.

Fit your schedule

Summer camp happens twice!

Never miss out

Access the recordings for
on-demand learning.

Harness your potential

Discover your ability to improve.

Everyone is welcome

Please invite your household to join in.

Get guidance

Discuss the lessons
and get coaching.

Take it with you

Bring what you learn into your life.

Summer Camp 2022 is happening exclusively on Zoom. That means you’ll be able to participate no matter where in the world (with an Internet connection) from your computer, tablet, or phone. (If you have yet to use Zoom, you can give it a try here: zoom.us/test.)

The curriculum consists of a series of classic and new Awareness Through Movement classes along with opportunities to learn from and with the other participants — after all, what would summer camp be without fun group activities? — and time for questions and answers. 

When you sign up for The Power Within, you can participate in five days of live classes and receive access to the videos. Larry teaches the lessons twice and we make the better version of one available. The recordings will be available shortly after each day’s proceedings. 

Once again, we are offering two parallel Summer Camps. The Atlantic Sessions meet from 9:00 to 11:45 AM Pacific time and the Pacific Sessions from 5:00 to 7:45 PM Pacific time. The tables below show when we’ll be meeting at representative times; to find out when summer camp is happening where you live, please click here. Whichever track you enroll in, you will receive information about both sessions, so you can join either group or both, as your schedule permits.

Pacific
July
20
21
22
23
24
25
Chicago
7:00 to 9:45 PM
 
Los Angeles
5:00 to 7:45 PM
 
Honolulu
2:00 to 5:45 PM
 
Taiwan 
8:00 to 10:45 AM
Tokyo 
9:00 to 11:45 AM
Adelaide 
9:30 AM to 12:15 PM
Sydney 
10:00 AM to 12:45 PM
Auckland 
11:00 AM to 1:45 PM
Atlantic
July
20
21
22
23
24
25
Los Angeles 
9:00 to 11:45 AM
Edmonton 
10:00 AM to 12:45 PM
Chicago 
11:00 AM to 1:45 PM
New York 
Noon to 2:45 PM
São Paulo 
1:00 to 2:45 PM
London 
5:00 to 7:45 PM
Paris 
6:00 to 8:45 PM
Tel Aviv 
7:00 to 9:45 PM

The tuition for this year’s Summer Camp is:

  • $297 early registration until 11:59 on Monday, 5 July 2022.
  • $337 thereafter.

In recognition of the current global financial situation, we are offering 20% off on enrollments from Australia, Canada, Hungary, Israel, New Zealand and Turkey and 40% off enrollment from countries with an even greater disparity in currency valuations. Simply choose your currency when you sign up for the class and you will automatically receive the discount. (Access to this discount is based on your geolocation.)

We want Summer Camp to be accessible; should you be facing financial hardship, please contact Mind in Motion support to request a scholarship.  

If you are a Feldenkrais teacher or trainee, please keep reading to find out to sign up for Summer Camp PLUS the exclusive Teachers’ Seminar:

(If you’re interested in a becoming a teacher, please click here.)

Teachers’ Seminar

Summer 2022

Whether you are wanting to understand the learning logic of this year’s Summer Camp curriculum, improve how you teach ATM, find inspiration, or delve into questions of composition and presentation, the Teachers’ Seminar is for you. One week after The Power Within, Larry will meet with Feldenkrais teachers and trainees to:

  • Debrief what happened during summer camp.
  • Decode the ATMs.
  • Discuss the learning logic and structure of the series. 

This is a unique opportunity to learn more about the series, unpack the lessons, examine how and why they work so well together, get your questions answered, and develop a deeper appreciation of the strategies, tactics, and techniques that comprise Moshe’s method. 

During each seminar, Larry will let you in on the process of choosing lessons, developing new ones, and constructing the program. His aim is to support you in fleshing out your insights, developing your understanding, and integrating what you learn into your personal ATM practice, classes, and creative process.

The Atlantic Teachers’ Seminar will meet on Saturday, July 30, 2022, from 9:00 AM to 12:30 PM Pacific time and the Pacific Sessions from 5:00 to 8:30 PM Pacific time. (Rest assured: there will be breaks along the way.) The tables below show when we’ll be meeting at representative times; to find out when summer camp is happening where you live, please click here. Whichever track you enroll in, you will receive information about both sessions so can join either group or both, as your schedule permits.

Because the conversation in each seminar will most likely unfold in unique ways, you will also receive access to both sessions.

Pacific
 
30 July
31 July
Chicago
7:00 to 10:30 PM
 
Los Angeles
5:00 to 8:30 PM
 
Honolulu
2:00 to 6:30 PM
 
Taiwan 
8:00 to 11:30 AM
Tokyo 
9:00 to 12:30 PM
Adelaide 
9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
Sydney 
10:00 AM to 12:45 PM
Auckland 
11:00 AM to 1:45 PM
Atlantic
 
30 July
Los Angeles
9:00AM to 12:30 PM
Edmonton
10:00 AM to 1:30 PM
Chicago
11:00 AM to 2:30 PM
New York
Noon to 3:30 PM
São Paulo
1:00 to 4:30 PM
London
5:00 to 8:30 PM
Paris
6:00 to 9:30 PM
Tel Aviv
7:00 to 10:30 PM

Enrollment in the Teachers’ Seminar includes participation in The Power Within. The tuition is:

  • $377 early registration until 11:59 PM Monday, 5 July 20, 2022.
  • $447 thereafter

Please note that participation in a seminar is limited to Feldenkrais teachers or trainees). To enroll, you will need a Become a Better Teacher account on the Mind in Motion website. If you are a Feldenkrais teacher or trainee but you do not have a free BABT account yet, you can request one by clicking here.

In recognition of the current global financial situation, we are offering 20% off on enrollments from Australia, Canada, Hungary, Israel, New Zealand and Turkey and 40% off enrollment from countries with an even greater disparity in currency valuations. Simply choose your currency when you sign up for the class and you will automatically receive the discount. (Access to this discount is based on your geolocation.) We want Summer Camp to be accessible; should you be facing financial hardship, please contact Mind in Motion support to request a scholarship.

Tuition and Participation Policy

  • There are no credits or refunds for any missed classes.

  • By registering for this class, you also acknowledge that 10% of your tuition is a non-refundable administrative fee.

  • To sign up for the course, you must agree to the participation agreement first.

Credit where credit is due: The image at the top was created using a photo from Aa Dil @ pexels.com